Concealed Firearms Permit Process
Download and complete the Wyoming CFP Application before arriving at the Sheriff's Office.
Once you have downloaded, printed and completed the application, you must bring the original completed form and three copies of it to the Niobrara County Sheriff's Office.
Application Processing Fee's. You will need to pay the State and County separately in the form of a US Money Order or a Bank Cashier's Cheque.
|State and County Fee Schedule for CFP Appliations||STATE FEE||COUNTY FEE|
|RENEWAL APPLICATION before expiration date||$45.00||$5.00|
|RENEWAL APPLICATION after expiration date||$55.00||$0.00|
|DUPLICATE PERMIT APPLICATION||$5.00||$0.00|
Make two US Money Order or Cashier Cheque payable to:
For the State: DCI or Wyoming Attorney General Office, in the fee amount.
For the County: Niobrara County Sheriff's Office, in the fee amount.
We do not accept Credit Card or
The Sheriff's Office will take cash for their fees.
The Sheriff’s Office can notarize your CFP Application. Please do not sign the forms if you wish us to notarize them.
You will also need to bring your drivers license and proof of weapon training. A hunter safety card will work, or if you attended one of our sponsored concealed carry class, you can bring that training certificate with you. Learn more about our concealed carry class that we offer in Niobrara County, Wyoming.
Once the application has been paid, you will need to be finger printed. Bring a valid State issued photo ID when you arrive to be fingerprinted. All application fingerprints are done only on Monday between 6 pm and 7 pm at the Niobrara County Sheriff’s Office Detention booking room.
Once all of the above that is listed had been completed and you are approved, you will need to visit a Wyoming Driver’s License location to be photographed for you CFP permit. You will need to take paperwork with you. The Sheriff’s Office staff will tell which paperwork to take with you.
They Wyoming Driver’s License location in Niobrara County is only open on Wednesday, 9 am to 5 pm. They are located in the blue DFS building at 100 East 9th Street, Lusk, Wyoming.
A Concealed Firearms Permit allows the holder to carry a concealed firearm beyond Wyoming and only into those States that have reciprocity with Wyoming CFP. Without CFP it is best not to carry outside of Wyoming. Reciprocity states are listed in green below.
All persons who carry open and concealed should know the laws in the state that they live and visit. Wyoming law does not apply in other state. Here is the Wyoming Law concerning Concealed Firearms Permits, WS 6-8-104
Restrictions on places that you cannot carry in Wyoming.
No carry into any Federal Building, this includes
and Federal Courts.
No carry into any place private or public that prohibits firearms and gives notice.
WS 6-8-104(f) restricts concealed weapons in the following
-- law enforcement operations or administration without written permission.
-- detention, prison or jail facility.
-- legislature or committee meetings.
-- school, college, university facility, and professional athletic events.
-- place were alcoholic liquor or malt beverages is sold for on premises consumption.
-- public worship places, without written consent from the administrator of the place.
Federal US Consitution
"A well regulated militia, being necessary to the security of a free state, the right of the people to keep and bear arms, shall not be infringed."
Wyoming Construction Article 1, Section 24 – Right to bear arms.
"The right of citizens to bear arms in defense of themselves and of the state shall not be denied."